▲ Up
 
03:35 27-09-2017
АКИpress CA-News Tazabek Turmush
ADVERTISE WITH US SUBSCRIBE
KazakhstanKyrgyzstanMongoliaTajikistanTurkmenistanUzbekistanWorld
POLITICSBUSINESSINCIDENTSSOCIETYCULTURESPORTANALYSISSCIENCE
Sun emits two solar flares, one was the strongest in a decade
16:20, 07 September 2017, 1231

AKIPRESS.COM - On Sept. 6, the sun released two powerful solar flares — the second was the most powerful in more than a decade, space.com reported.

At 5:10 a.m. EDT (0910 GMT), an X-class solar flare — the most powerful sun-storm category — blasted from a large sunspot on the sun's surface. That flare was the strongest since 2015, at X2.2, but it was dwarfed just 3 hours later, at 8:02 a.m. EDT (1202 GMT), by an X9.3 flare, according to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Space Weather Prediction Center (SWPC). The last X9 flare occurred in 2006 (coming in at X9.0).

According to SWPC, the flares resulted in radio blackouts: high-frequency radio experienced a "wide area of blackouts, loss of contact for up to an hour over [the] sunlit side of Earth," and low frequency communication, used in navigation, was degraded for an hour.

https://www.nasa.gov/sites/default/files/styles/full_width/public/thumbnails/image/quick_double_x_flare-1041.gif?itok=A7sEd_r-


Full access to all news articles in English

1 month2000 somsubscribe
year20000 somsubscribe
These subscription fees are for private individuals only. Please contact us via phone +996 (312) 900-776 or email info@akipress.org for corporate subscription inquiries
Twitterfacebookprint
© AKIpress News Agency - 2001-2017. All rights reserved
Republication of any material is prohibited without a written agreement with AKIpress News Agency. Any citation must be accompanied by a hyperlink to akipress.com.
Our address:
Moskovskaya str. 189, Bishkek, the Kyrgyz Republic
e-mail: english@akipress.org, akipressenglish@gmail.com;
Tel/Fax: +996(312)65-03-06