▲ Up
01:34 13-12-2018
АКИpress CA-News Tazabek Turmush
Oscars 2016: Leonardo DiCaprio finally gets his statuette
World | culture | 10:58, 29 February 2016 | 1612

AKIPRESS.COM - CcW1s-CW8AAnIRU.jpg:large Alejandro G. Iñárritu wins for directing "The Revenant," the second win in a row for the Mexican director.

"The Revenant" was also up for best picture and lead actor for Leonardo DiCaprio, who finally won his first Oscar tonight.

Here is a full list of nominations and winners for the 88th Academy Awards. This list is being updated as the results are announced.

Best picture

Winner: Spotlight

The Big Short

Bridge of Spies


Mad Max: Fury Road

The Martian

The Revenant


Best actor

Winner: Leonardo DiCaprio - The Revenant

Bryan Cranston - Trumbo

Matt Damon - The Martian

Michael Fassbender - Steve Jobs

Eddie Redmayne - The Danish Girl

Best actress

Winner: Brie Larson - Room

Cate Blanchett - Carol

Jennifer Lawrence - Joy

Charlotte Rampling - 45 Years

Saoirse Ronan - Brooklyn

Best supporting actor

Winner: Mark Rylance - Bridge of Spies

Christian Bale - The Big Short

Tom Hardy - The Revenant

Mark Ruffalo - Spotlight

Sylvester Stallone - Creed

Best supporting actress

Winner: Alicia Vikander - The Danish Girl

Jennifer Jason Leigh - The Hateful Eight

Rooney Mara - Carol

Rachel McAdams - Spotlight

Kate Winslet - Steve Jobs

Best director

Winner: Alejandro Inarritu - The Revenant

Lenny Abrahamson - Room

Tom McCarthy - Spotlight

Adam McKay - The Big Short

George Miller - Mad Max: Fury Road

Best adapted screenplay

Winner: The Big Short (Adam McKay and Charles Randolph)



The Martian


Best original screenplay

Winner: Spotlight (Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer)

Bridge of Spies

Ex Machina

Inside Out

Straight Outta Compton

Best animated film

Winner: Inside Out


Boy and the World

Shaun the Sheep Movie

When Marnie Was There

Best foreign language film

Winner: Son of Saul - Hungary

Embrace of the Serpent - Colombia

Mustang - France

Theeb - Jordan

A War - Denmark

Best animated short

Winner: Bear Story (Gabriel Osorio and Pato Escala)


Sanjay's Super Team

We Can't Live without Cosmos

World of Tomorrow

Best cinematography

Winner: The Revenant (Emmanuel Lubezki)


The Hateful Eight

Mad Max: Fury Road


Best costume design

Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road (Jenny Beavan)



The Danish Girl

The Revenant

Best documentary feature

Winner: Amy

Cartel Land

The Look of Silence

What Happened, Miss Simone?

Winter on Fire: Ukraine's Fight for Freedom

Best documentary short

Winner: A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness

Body Team 12

Chau, Beyond the Lines

Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah

Last Day of Freedom

Best editing

Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road (Margaret Sixel)

The Big Short

The Revenant


Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best live action short

Winner: Stutterer

Ave Maria

Day One

Everything Will Be Okay (Alles Wird Gut)


Best make-up and hair

Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road (Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega and Damian Martin)

The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared

The Revenant

Best original score

Winner: The Hateful Eight

Bridge of Spies



Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best original song

Winner: Writing's on the Wall, Sam Smith - Spectre

Earned It, The Weeknd - Fifty Shades of Grey

Manta Ray, J Ralph & Antony - Racing Extinction

Simple Song #3, Sumi Jo - Youth

Til It Happens To You, Lady Gaga - The Hunting Ground

Best production design

Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road (Colin Gibson and Lisa Thompson)

Bridge of Spies

The Danish Girl

The Martian

The Revenant

Best sound editing

Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road (Mark Mangini and David White)

The Martian

The Revenant


Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best sound mixing

Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road (Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff and Ben Osmo)

Bridge of Spies

The Martian

The Revenant

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best visual effects

Winner: Ex Machina (Andrew Whitehurst, Paul Norris, Mark Ardington and Sara Bennett)

Mad Max: Fury Road

The Martian

The Revenant

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

18:19 Chocolate meltdown closes German road17:57 Telia’s losses in Uzbekistan reportedly make $14 billion due to deal with Gulnara Karimova17:54 It's easier for women to work as interior designers in Kyrgyzstan than men: Designer17:51 MP surprised by government's silence on arrest of Deputy Minister with debt17:37 $21.7 million worth wind farm in Mangistau region to be commissioned in summer 201917:35 Parliament approves candidate for Minister of Finance17:20 China’s Genertec to invest $1.1 billion in Kazakhstan’s car making industry17:12 Kazakhstan to sign agreement with Kyrgyzstan to reveal dual nationals17:03 Decision on termination of criminal probe against ex-Interior Minister Moldomusa Kongantiyev cancelled16:25 Ambassador of Kyrgyzstan presents credentials to President Nazarbayev16:23 Lawmaker: 'Can we sack Chairman of National Bank of Kyrgyzstan?'16:00 Bishkek wants to buy 60 buses for 382.5 million soms15:33 Film festival Kyrgyzstan is country of short films kicks off in Bishkek15:19 Optima Bank: Disclosure of a bank cell with $889,900 of ex-Deputy PM Zilaliyev was done by bank workers over a year ago14:53 Four dead after man opens fire following cathedral mass14:46 Egyptian Ambassador delivers credentials to Speaker of Turkmen parliament14:29 Water canal construction under way in Batken region14:22 Parliament of Kyrgyzstan invites representatives of national security agency, General Prosecutor’s Office concerning ex-MP Babanov’s case14:13 Excerpts from Aitmatov’s works read in English, Turkish, French14:00 Bears, lynx, wolf captured on camera traps in Sarychat-Ertash nature park
© AKIpress News Agency - 2001-2018. All rights reserved
Republication of any material is prohibited without a written agreement with AKIpress News Agency. Any citation must be accompanied by a hyperlink to akipress.com.
Our address:
Moskovskaya str. 189, Bishkek, the Kyrgyz Republic
e-mail: english@akipress.org, akipressenglish@gmail.com;
Tel/Fax: +996(312)65-03-06